American College of Surgeons Honors Susan MacKinnon

Read More

From Becker’s ASCReveiew…

Susan E. Mackinnon, MD, a St. Louis-based surgeon, was honored with the Jacobson Innovation Award from the American College of Surgeons.
Dr. Mackinnon was recognized with this international award for her innovative use of nerve transfer procedures to treat patients with peripheral nerve injuries. She is the Sydney M. Shoenberg, Jr. and Robert H. Shoenberg Endowed Chair and Professor and Chief of the Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis.
Dr. Mackinnon performed the first nerve transplant in 1988 with cadaver nerves to restore feeling and movement in an injured boy’s leg. She has also transplanted branches of the median nerve at the wrist to the ulnar nerve as well as the radial nerve. Her surgical team at Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis performed a procedure that successfully enabled a quadriplegic patient to regain some use of his hand after spinal cord injury.
In addition to her clinical practice, Dr. Mackinnon has served as president of professional societies, including the American Association of Plastic Surgeons, and she was elected fellow of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.

Posted on June 21, 2013
Posted in: Axon Injury & Repair, News Authors: