Medical students honor Dikranian and other faculty, house staff

Read More

From the WUSTL Newsroom…

As a show of their appreciation for exemplary service in medical education, Washington University School of Medicine students recently presented the school’s faculty and house staff with the annual Distinguished Service Teaching Awards.

The awards were for the 2013-14 school year.

Initiated by students and implemented with support from the Office of Medical Student Education, the awards honor educators who have made significant contributions to the training of future physicians at Washington University.

Each year, students finishing their first, second and third year of studies select the course masters, lecturers, clerkship directors, attendings and residents who distinguished themselves most in the education of medical students. The awards give medical students an opportunity to express appreciation for their teachers’ efforts, dedication and patience.

Among those honored was David Clifford, MD, the Melba and Forest Seay Professor of Clinical Neuropharmacology in Neurology. Also a professor of medicine, Clifford is the students’ nominee for the National Humanism in Medicine Award, which is presented annually by the Association of American Medical Colleges.

The award recognizes medical school faculty physicians who exemplify the qualities of a caring and compassionate mentor in the teaching and advising of medical students.

Here are others honored at the awards ceremony Nov. 19 at the Eric P. Newman Education Center:

Class of 2017

Stanley Lang Lecturer of the Year: Krikor T. Dikranian, MD, PhD, associate professor of anatomy

Professor of the Year: Jane E. Phillips-Conroy, PhD, professor of anatomy and of anthropology

Course Master of the Year: Glenn C. Conroy, PhD, professor of anatomy and of anthropology

Teaching Assistant of the Year: Roger Klein, graduate research assistant

Practice of Medicine Small Group Leader of the Year: Douglas M. Char, associate professor of emergency medicine

Selective of the Year: Cynthia A. Wichelman, MD, associate professor of emergency medicine

Distinguished Service Teaching Awards:

  • Paul C. Bridgman, PhD, professor of neurobiology
  • Alan I. Glass, MD
  • Timothy E. Holy, PhD, associate professor of neurobiology
  • Henry V. Huang, PhD, associate professor of molecular microbiology
  • Heidi B. Miller, MD, instructor in clinical medicine
  • Jay F. Piccirillo, MD, professor of otolaryngology
  • Linda J. Pike, PhD, professor of biochemistry and molecular biophysics
  • Gregory M. Polites, MD, associate professor of emergency medicine
  • Joseph L. (Joel) Price, PhD, DPhil, professor of anatomy and neurobiology
  • Jason D. Weber, PhD, associate professor of medicine

For the complete article, click here.

Posted on December 11, 2014
Posted in: Axon Injury & Repair, News Authors: