David Perlmutter elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Read More

From the WashU Newsroom

Washington University in St. Louis sociocultural anthropologist John R. Bowen and David H. Perlmutter, MD, dean of the School of Medicine, join the likes of President Barack Obama, actor Tom Hanks and Supreme Court Justice Sonia M. Sotomayor as newly elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the academy announced April 18.

Founded in 1780, the academy honors exceptional scholars, leaders, artists and innovators and engages them in sharing knowledge and addressing challenges facing the world. The new members of the academy were elected in 25 categories and are affiliated with 125 institutions.

The 238th class of new members is available at www.amacad.org/members.

Previous class members from Washington University include Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton, Barbara Schaal, dean of the faculty of Arts & Sciences, scientific innovator Philip Needleman and the late writer William Gass, among some 52 overall.

Visit the Source for the complete story.

Posted on April 19, 2018
Posted in: HPAN, Neurodegeneration, News Authors: