Lysosome Processing & Transport

Organizers: Bruno Benitez and Carlos Cruchaga Read More


The Lysosome Processing & Transport Group is a group of investigators whose research goals range from basic lysosomal system biology to therapy in model organisms and humans. The focus of this group is to introduce key research developments and current innovative studies in the lysosome field.  Members of this group share an interest in the autophagy/lysosomal pathway (ALP) and its relationship to neurodegenerative disorders, development of novel therapeutic strategies of Lysosome storage diseases and the use of cell and animal models as tools to determine the role of the ALP in the pathogenesis of neurological and cardiovascular diseases.  Group meetings are open to the Washington University community, and those outside also are welcome to present their work and exchange new data and cutting-edge ideas.

Organizers/Contact Information

For additional information about the Lysosome Processing & Transport Group, please contact the faculty organizers Bruno Benitez or Carlos Cruchaga, or our administrative coordinator, Jan Konrad.

2021 Schedule, Lysosome Processing & Transport Group

Every month on the 3rd Thursday (unless noted)
Zoom conference

For virtual meeting information email Bruno Benitez.

Zoom information (WUSTL Key required)

  • February 18: Michelle Hastings (Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science) “Antisense oligonucleotides for the treatment of CLN3 Batten disease”
  • April 15: Dimitri Krainc (Northwestern University) “The Interplay of Mitochondrial and Lysosomal Dysfunction in Parkinson’s Disease”
  • May 20: Peter Lansbury (Bial Biotechnology, Harvard University) “Discovery and development of a glucocerebrosidase activator for GBA-Parkinson’s Disease”
  • June 17: Todd Logan (Denali Therapeutics) “Novel Roles of Progranulin in Lysosomes: Implications for FTD and Therapeutics”
  • August 19: Mark Cookson (National Institute on Aging/NIH) “Lysosomal activation of Leucine-Rich Repeat Kinase 2 in the molecular pathogenesis of Parkinson’s disease”
  • September 16: Allen Seylani (National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute/NIH) “Novel Regulatory Function of GCN5L1 In Lysosomal Biology – A potential Therapeutic Target In Neurodegenerative Diseases”
  • October 21: Peter Lobel (Rutgers University) “From basic research on lysosomal targeting to disease discovery and drug development”
  • November 18: Joshua Shulman (Baylor College of Medicine) “Functional Genomics of the Lysosome in Parkinson’s Disease”
  • December 16: Michael Ward (NINDS/NIH)

All meetings are listed on the Office of Neuroscience Research (ONR) Calendar.

Archive of Previous Seasons

Fall 2020






Lysosome Processing & Transport Faculty

Faculty organizers: Bruno Benitez, Carlos Cruchaga

Affiliated faculty

Bruno Benitez (WashU Psychiatry)
Jonathan Cooper (WashU Pediatrics)
Carlos Cruchaga (WashU Psychiatry)
Patricia Dickson (WashU Pediatrics)
Abhinav Diwan (WashU Medicine)
Timothy Holy (WashU Dept. of Neuroscience)
Jonathan Kipnis (WashU Pathology & Immunology)
Stuart Kornfeld (WashU Medicine)
Jin-Moo Lee (WashU Neurology)
Adriana Montaño (Saint Louis University)
Andrew Nguyen (Saint Louis University)
Daniel Ory (WashU Medicine)
Maria Remedi (WashU Medicine)
Rajan Sah (WashU Medicine)
Mark Sands (WashU Medicine)
Gary Silverman (WashU Pediatrics)
Amber Stratman (WashU Cell Biology & Physiology)