Working group for HPAN
Organizer: Chris Weihl Read More


The Neurodegeneration Research Group is the working group for the Hope Center Program on Protein Aggregation & Neurodegeneration (HPAN), the most formalized of the Hope Center Research groups. HPAN’s goal is to develop better ways to diagnose and treat neurodegenerative diseases through an understanding of the underlying molecular mechanisms that lead to protein aggregation and disease. Group meetings are in two different formats, a lab meeting and a PI chalk talk (PIs only), and are open to investigators in the Washington University community.

All meetings are listed on the Neuroscience Calendar of the Office of Neuroscience Research.

Organizer/Contact Information

For additional information about Neurodegeneration Group Meetings, please contact the organizer Chris Weihl or the administrative coordinator, Jan Konrad.

2016/2017 Schedule, Neurodegeneration Group

2nd Wednesday of the month
8:30a – 9:30a
BJC Institute of Health 9AB

  • October 11: Mani Mahadevan (University of Virginia), From Gene Discovery to Therapy: Translational Research in Myotonic Muscular Dystrophy”
    Note, this is a joint meeting of the Hope Center Neurogenetics and Neurodegeneration Groups.
  • October 12: Itender Singh (WashU Neurosurgery), “Cyclophilin A: mechanism and drug target for subarachnoid hemorrhage”
  • November 9: Yang Shi (Holtzman Lab, WashU Neurology), “Effect of ApolipoproteinE on tau pathogenesis and tau-mediated neurodegeneration in a tauopathy mouse model”
  • December 14: Shannon Macauley-Rambach (WashU Neurology), “Repurposing the diabetic medication, glyburide, for treatment of Alzheimer’s disease”
  • January 11**: Shane Liddelow (Stanford School of Medicine), “What do reactive astrocytes do?”
    Note location for Jan 11 talk: East Pavilion Auditorium.
  • February 8: Jan Bieschke (WashU Biomedical Engineering), “Membrane interaction and neuronal uptake of early amyloid-beta oligomers”
  • March 8: Geraldine Kress (Musiek Lab, WashU Neurology), “Amyloid beta levels are influenced by the circadian system”
  • April 12: Yuna Ayala (Saint Louis University), “RNA Binding Proteins in Neurodegeneration: Regulation of TDP-43 Function and Aggregation”
  • May 10: Eugene Lee (Weihl Lab, WashU Neurology), “SQSTM1 in autophagic degradation”

**Note that Shane Liddelow’s talk on January 11 is a Special Hope Center Lecture.  Presentation by Tim Miller’s lab, originally scheduled for January 11, will be rescheduled.  Stay tuned!

For previous years’ talks, check out the archive links below.

All meetings are listed on the Neuroscience Calendar of the Office of Neuroscience Research.

Archives of previous seasons







Protein Aggregation & Neurodegeneration Faculty

Group meeting faculty organizer: Chris Weihl

Affiliated faculty

Beau Ances (WashU Neurology)
Yuna Ayala (St. Louis University)
Randall Bateman (WashU Neurology)
Jan Bieschke (WashU Biomedical Engineering)
Kendall Blumer (WashU Cell Biology & Physiology)
David Brody (WashU Neurology)
Nigel Cairns (WashU Neurology)
Anil Cashikar (WashU Cell Biology & Physiology)
Zhou-Feng Chen (WashU Anesthesiology)
John Cirrito (WashU Neurology)
Marco Colonna (WashU Pathology & Immunology)
Carlos Cruchaga (WashU Psychiatry)
Adish Dani (WashU Pathology & Immunology)
Marc Diamond (WashU Neurology)
Abhinav Diwan (WashU Medicine)
Anne Fagan (WashU Neurology)
Carl Frieden (WashU Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysics)
Jeff Gidday (WashU Neurosurgery)
Dennis Hallahan (WashU Radiation Oncology)
Phyllis Hanson (WashU Cell Biology & Physiology)
Tamara Hershey (WashU Psychiatry)
Didier Hodzic (WashU Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences)
David Holtzman (WashU Neurology)
Sanjay Jain (WashU Medicine)
Celeste Karch (WashU Psychiatry)
Paul Kotzbauer (WashU Neurology)
Jin-Moo Lee (WashU Neurology)
Mingjie Li (WashU Neurology)
David Limbrick (WashU Neurosurgery)
Brendan Lucey (WashU Neurology)
Moe Mahjoub (WashU Medicine)
Soe Soe Mar (WashU Neurology)
Steve Mennerick (WashU Psychiatry)
Tim Miller (WashU Neurology)
Liviu Mirica (WashU Chemistry)
John Morris (WashU Neurology)
Erik Musiek (WashU Neurology)
David Ornitz (WashU Developmental Biology)
Dan Ory (WashU Medicine)
Rohit Pappu (WashU Biomedical Engineering)
David Perlmutter (WashU Pediatrics)
Joel Perlmutter (WashU Neurology)
Richard Perrin (WashU Pathology & Immunology)
Alan Pestronk (WashU Neurology)
Steve Petersen (WashU Neurology)
Marc Raichle (WashU Radiology)
Mark Sands (WashU Medicine)
Robert Schmidt (WashU Pathology & Immunology)
Itender Singh (WashU Neurosurgery)
Joy Snider (WashU Neurology)
Heather True (WashU Cell Biology & Physiology)
Fumihiko Urano (WashU Medicine)
Andrei Vlassenko (WashU Radiology)
Yong Wang (WashU Radiology)
Chris Weihl (WashU Neurology)
David Wozniak (WashU Psychiatry)
Qin Yang (WashU Radiation Oncology)
Hiroko Yano (WashU Neurosurgery)
Andrew Yoo (WashU Developmental Biology)
Greg Zipfel (WashU Neurosurgery)