Hope Center Scholar

Inaugurated summer 2014 Read More

A collaboration with the Biomedical Research Apprenticeship Program (BioMedRAP)

The Hope Center for Neurological Disorders is pleased to announce the Hope Center Scholar program, in collaboration with the Washington University Biomedical Research Apprenticeship Program (BioMedRAP).  BioMedRAP is organized by the Division of Biology and Biomedical Sciences (DBBS), and provides opportunities for highly talented undergraduates to engage in summer research in labs at Washington University.  In particular, applicants are especially encouraged to apply to BioMedRAP if they are from groups that traditionally are underrepresented in biomedical research.  Beginning in 2014, a Hope Center Scholar will be selected from BioMedRAP applicants.  The Hope Center will provide financial support to host this undergraduate for the summer, and he/she will contribute to research in a Hope Center laboratory.

The inaugural Hope Center Scholar is Jesús Acevedo, a rising senior at the University of Puerto Rico, Rio Pedras.  Jesús will spend summer 2014 in Joseph Dougherty’s lab, studying the neurogenetics of autism.

Joseph Dougherty Lab

For inquiries about the Hope Center Scholar Program, contact Anneliese Schaefer.



For information on the DBBS program BioMedRAP for undergraduate summer research, click below.