Organizer: Anil Cashikar

Lipid metabolism in the brain has been identified as highly impactful for neuroinflammation. It is well known that apolipoprotein E (ApoE), the main lipid carrier protein in the brain, is the biggest risk factor for Alzheimer’s disease. Dysfunction in lipid efflux and lipid storage pathways appear to be strongly associated with inflammatory activation of glia. Targeting specific aspects of the brain lipid metabolism may offer therapeutic opportunities. The new Lipid Metabolism Research Group gathers those who have made pioneering contributions in understanding the connection between lipid metabolism, immune activation and neurological/psychiatric disorders, and others who would like to know more about these contributions, better understand the role of lipid metabolism in health and disease, exchange ideas, methodology and reagents and explore opportunities for identification of existing resources and development of new resources.

2023 Schedule

2nd Friday of the month
2:30p – 3:30p
Zoom conference

For virtual meeting information email the Hope Center or click the Zoom links button below.

  • June 9: Jiyeon Lee (Musiek lab, WashU Neurology) “Microglial REV-ERBα regulates inflammation and lipid droplet formation to drive tauopathy”
  • July 14: Yun Chen (Holtzman lab, WashU Neurology)
  • August 11: Travis Tabor (Holtzman lab, WashU Neurology)
  • September 8: Priyanka Narayan (NIH/NIDDK)
  • October 13: Angel Baldan (Saint Louis University)
  • November 10: Matheus Victor (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • December 8: Michael Haney (Wyss-Coray lab, Stanford University)

All meetings are listed on the ONR Calendar of the Office of Neuroscience Research.

Lipid Metabolism Group: Affiliated faculty members

Anil Cashikar (WashU Psychiatry)
Jonathan Cooper (WashU Pediatrics)
Carlos Cruchaga (WashU Psychiatry)
Albert (Gus) Davis (WashU Neurology)
Abhinav Diwan (WashU Medicine)
Alex Evers (WashU Anesthesiology)
David Ford (Saint Louis University)
Song Hu (WashU Biomedical Engineering)
Laura Ibanez (WashU Psychiatry)
Joseph Ippolito (WashU Radiology)
Celeste Karch (WashU Psychiatry)
David Kast (WashU Cell Biology & Physiology)
Erik Musiek (WashU Neurology)
Jennifer Philips (WashU Medicine)
Gwendalyn Randolph (WashU Pathology & Immunology)
Daniela Salvemini (Saint Louis University)
Clay Semenkovich (WashU Medicine)
Ananth Vellimana (WashU Neurosurgery)