2016 Hope Center Retreat

May 3, 2016: Danforth Plant Science Center Read More

Program, 2016 Retreat

Welcome and Opening Remarks from David Holtzman, MD and Anneliese Schaefer, JD, PhD

Session 1: Axon Injury & Repair (Chairs: Valeria Cavalli, PhD(Neuroscience) / David Brody, MD, PhD (Neurology))

  • Dan Carlin, PhD (Cavalli Lab, Neuroscience)
    “mTOR activation stimulates axon regeneration in nociceptive neurons without promoting pain” 
  • Lauren Walker (DiAntonio Lab, Developmental Biology)
    “MAPK signaling functions upstream of SARM1 to promote axonal degeneration”

Session 2:  Neurogenetics (Chair: Christina Gurnett, MD, PhD(Neurology))

  • Darshan Sapkota, PhD  (Dougherty Lab, Genetics)
    “Cell type-specific translational profiling of the mouse brain by coupling TRAP to ribosome footprinting”
  • Yuetiva Robles (Cruchaga Lab, Psychiatry)
    “CSF levels of amyloid beta and tau as endophenotypes reveal novel variants potentially informative for Alzheimer disease”

Session 3:  Clocks/Neurovascular (Chair/s: Dmitri Nusinow, PhD (Danforth Plant Science Center) /Andria Ford, MD and Jin-Moo Lee, MD, PhD (Neurology))

  • Brian Lananna (Musiek Lab, Neurology)
    “The astrocyte circadian clock regulates astrogliosis and neuronal injury”
  • Courtney Sobieski (Mennerick Lab, Psychiatry)
    “Reductionism reveals resilience: meeting neuronal energetic demands in a stark environment”

Orla Smith, PhD (Managing Editor, Science Translational Medicine)

“Challenges in scientific publishing: an editor’s perspective”

Hope Center Lecture: Beverly Davidson, PhD (University of Pennsylvania)

“Emerging therapies for inherited brain diseases”

Session 4:  Neurodegeneration (Chair:  Chris Weihl, MD, PhD(Neurology))

  • Tyler Ulland, PhD (Colonna Lab, Pathology and Immunobiology)
    “TREM2-mediated early microglial response limits diffusion and toxicity of amyloid plaques” 
  • Christina Ising, PhD (Holtzman Lab, Neurology)
    “AAV-mediated expression of anti-tau scFvs markedly decreases pathological tau accumulation in a mouse model of tauopathy”
  • Dhruva Dhavale, PhD (Kotzbauer Lab, Neurology)
    “Structural requirements of alpha-synuclein fibril formation” 
  • Mariah Lawler (Miller Lab, Neurology)
    “Cell type specific miRNA profiling reveals candidate biomarker of motor neuron disease”

Poster session