Annual Retreat

Save the date for the 6th Annual Retreat: May 3, 2016. Read More


The Hope Center Annual Retreat provides an opportunity to go off-site for a day, focus on Hope Center research, and learn more about translational Neuroscience outside Washington University: Hope Center faculty and members of their laboratories learn about the latest findings and future directions of member labs in the context of short talks and a poster session; the Hope Center Lecture features an invited speaker who leads his/her field with a research program aligned with the Hope Center mission.  The Sixth Annual Hope Center Retreat will be held on Tuesday, May 3, 2016 at the Danforth Plant Science Center and features Beverly Davidson (University of Pennsylvania) as the Hope Center Lecturer.   Orla Smith (Science Translational Medicine) will also give a talk.  Details are below and also on the Neuroscience Calendar of the Office of Neuroscience Research.

For general questions about the Annual Retreat, please contact Celeste Karch or Carlos Cruchaga.

Retreat program

 8:30a  Continental Breakfast (Lower Atrium)
 9:00a  Welcome and Opening Remarks
            David Holtzman, MD and Anneliese Schaefer, JD, PhD
 9:05a   Session 1: Axon Injury & Repair
           Chair: Valeria Cavalli, PhD(Neuroscience) / David Brody, MD, PhD (Neurology) 
            Dan Carlin, PhD (Cavalli Lab, Neuroscience),  “mTOR activation stimulates axon regeneration in nociceptive neurons without promoting pain” 
            Lauren Walker (DiAntonio Lab, Developmental Biology), “MAPK signaling functions upstream of SARM1 to promote axonal degeneration”
 9:35a   Session 2:  Neurogenetics
            Chair: Christina Gurnett, MD, PhD(Neurology) 
            Darshan Sapkota, PhD  (Dougherty Lab, Genetics), “Cell type-specific translational profiling of the mouse brain by coupling TRAP to ribosome footprinting”
            Yuetiva Robles (Cruchaga Lab, Psychiatry), “CSF levels of amyloid beta and tau as endophenotypes reveal novel variants potentially informative for Alzheimer disease”
 10:05a Session 3:  Clocks/Neurovascular
            Chair: Dmitri Nusinow, PhD (Danforth Plant Science Center) /Andria Ford, MD               and Jin-Moo Lee, MD, PhD (Neurology)
            Brian Lananna (Musiek Lab, Neurology), “The astrocyte circadian clock regulates astrogliosis and neuronal injury”
                     Courtney Sobieski (Mennerick Lab, Psychiatry), “Reductionism reveals resilience: meeting neuronal energetic demands in a stark environment”
 10:35a            Break
 11:00a  Orla Smith, PhD (Managing Editor, Science Translational Medicine), “Challenges in scientific publishing: an editor’s perspective
 12:00p             Lunch
 1:15p   Hope Center Lecture
            Beverly Davidson, PhD (University of Pennsylvania), Emerging therapies for inherited brain diseases”
 2:15p   Session 4:  Neurodegeneration
           Chair:  Chris Weihl, MD, PhD(Neurology)
           Tyler Ulland, PhD (Colonna Lab, Pathology and Immunobiology), 
“TREM2-mediated early microglial response limits diffusion and toxicity of amyloid plaques” 
           Christina Ising, PhD (Holtzman Lab, Neurology), “AAV-mediated expression of anti-tau scFvs markedly decreases pathological tau accumulation in a mouse model of tauopathy”
           Dhruva Dhavale, PhD (Kotzbauer Lab, Neurology), “Structural requirements of alpha-synuclein fibril formation”
           Mariah Lawler (Miller Lab, Neurology), “Cell type specific miRNA profiling reveals candidate biomarker of motor neuron disease”
3:15p   Break; Poster Set-up 
3:30p   Poster session (Upper Atrium)
Wine/Beer/Hors d’Oeuvres
5:45p   Shuttle departs for WUSM

Hope Center Awards

Graduate student and post doc presenters at the Hope Center Retreat are eligible for a Hope Center Award.  An award of $1000 each will be given to one poster presenter and one short talk presenter whose work best fulfills the mission of the Hope Center. Judging will be based on scientific merit, relevance to the Hope Center mission, and presentation at the Retreat.  Award winners are announced in the days following the Retreat, and will present their work at a Monday Noon Hope Center/Neurology seminar following the retreat.

The winners of the 2015 Hope Center Award:

Sarah Petersen (Monk Lab, Developmental Biology), “GPR126 has distinct, domain-dependent functions in Schwann cell development mediated by interaction with laminin-211”

Matheus Victor (Yoo Lab, Developmental Biology), “Modeling Huntington’s Disease with striatal medium spiny neurons directly converted from patient fibroblasts”

For a list of past Hope Center Award Winners, click here.


Retreat 2015

The fifth annual Hope Center Retreat was held at the Danforth Plant Science Center on May 5, 2015.

2015 Retreat Program


For previous year's programs, click the links below.

2014 Retreat Program

2013 Retreat Program

2012 Retreat Program

2011 Retreat Program