Axon Injury & Repair

Organizer: Valeria Cavalli Read More


Axon Injury & Repair Group investigators study many aspects of axon biology, including the cell biology and signaling mechanisms that underlie axonal and synaptic responses to trauma or disease, mechanisms that enable repair, and translational approaches to assessing axonal integrity in animals and humans.  Group meetings are open to the Washington University community, and those outside the Hope Center are also welcome to present their research findings.

Organizers/Contact Information

For additional information about the Axon Injury & Repair Group, please contact the faculty organizer, Valeria Cavalli or the administrative coordinator, Kally Coleman.

2021/2022 Schedule, Axon Injury & Repair Group

1st Tuesday of the month (unless noted)
Zoom conference

For virtual meeting information email the Hope Center.

  • October 5: Valeria Cavalli (WashU Neuroscience) “Satellite Glial cells in sensory nervous system health and disease”
  • November 2: Mayssa Mokalled (WashU Developmental Biology) “Fishing for spinal cord regeneration mechanisms”
  • December 7: Junwei Du, Igor Luzhansky (Berezin lab, WashU Radiology)
    • Junwei Du – “Exploring mechanisms of oxaliplatin-induced peripheral neuropathy in mice”
    • Igor Luzhansky – “Visualizing peripheral nerve regeneration in vivo”
  • January 4: Bryan Copits (WashU Anesthesiology) “Synaptic adhesion molecules and somatosensory circuit (re)assembly”
  • February 1: Jesús Acevedo Cintron (Wood and Mackinnon labs, WashU Surgery) “The role of the inflammatory microenvironment in Acellular Nerve Allografts repairing nerve gaps”
  • March 1: Philip Williams (WashU Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences) “Cellular traits linked with survival following axon injury in retinal ganglion cells”
  • March 29*: Kelsey Krus (DiAntonio lab, WashU Developmental Biology) “Loss of Stathmin-2, a hallmark of TDP-43-associated ALS, causes motor neuropathy”
    *Note date
  • May 3: Stefanie Geisler (WashU Neurology) “Bortezomib-induced neuropathy – new insights into mechanisms”


For previous years’ talks, check out the archives links below.

All meetings are listed on the ONR Calendar of the Office of Neuroscience Research.

Archives of previous seasons












Archives for the Journal Club: Cell Biology of Axons and Surrounding Glia can be found here.

Axon Injury & Repair Faculty Members

Faculty organizer: Valeria Cavalli (WashU Neuroscience)

Affiliated faculty members

Ghazal Ashrafi (WashU Cell Biology & Physiology)
Martha Bagnall (WashU Neuroscience)
Phil Bayly (WashU Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science)
Mikhail Berezin (WashU Radiology)
Yu-Qing Cao (WashU Anesthesiology)
Valeria Cavalli (WashU Neuroscience)
Marina Cella (WashU Pathology & Immunology)
Jonathan Cooper (WashU Pediatrics)
Bryan Copits (WashU Anesthesiology)
Anne Cross (WashU Neurology)
Aaron DiAntonio (WashU Developmental Biology)
Krikor Dikranian (WashU Neuroscience)
Alex Evers (WashU Anesthesiology)
Stuart Friess (WashU Pediatrics)
Stefanie Geisler (WashU Neurology)
Rob Gereau (WashU Anesthesiology)
Evan Gordon (WashU Radiology)
Sanjay Jain (WashU Medicine)
Celeste Karch (WashU Psychiatry)
Daniel Kerschensteiner (WashU Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences)
Jonathan Kipnis (WashU Pathology & Immunology)
Robyn Klein (WashU Medicine)
Terry Kummer (WashU Neurology)
Vitaly Klyachko (WashU Cell Biology & Physiology)
James “Pat” McAllister (WashU Neurosurgery)
Susan Mackinnon (WashU Surgery)
Jeff Milbrandt (WashU Genetics)
Mayssa Mokalled (WashU Developmental Biology)
Aubin Moutal (SLU)
Karen O’Malley (WashU Neuroscience)
Laura Piccio (WashU Neurology)
Wilson Zack Ray (WashU Neurosurgery)
Mark Rutherford (WashU Otolaryngology)
Rajan Sah (WashU Medicine)
Anneliese Schaefer (WashU Neurology)
Erica Scheller (WashU Medicine)
James Skeath (WashU Genetics)
Alison Snyder-Warwick (WashU Surgery)
Victor Song (WashU Radiology)
William Spees (WashU Radiology)
Jennifer Strahle (WashU Neurosurgery)
Gregory Van Stavern (WashU Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences)
Yong Wang (WashU Obstetrics & Gynecology)
Phil Williams (WashU Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences)
Matthew Wood (WashU Surgery)
Greg Wu (WashU Neurology)
Dmitriy Yablonski (WashU Radiology)
Charles Zorumski (WashU Psychiatry)